This is probably the most delicious treat I have ever made. I first tasted it at Christmas when my Nana made it for us. I’m not normally a huge fan of apple pie, but this was amazing!

She gave me the recipe and I made my first one for my dad to take to work on Pi day! I was a little worried about how it had turned out, but he and his coworkers loved it! I made it again for my classmates and I think it went over pretty well. Throughout the day descriptive and complimentary words such as “heavenly”, “incredible”, “Can I please eat all of it?”, and “Oh my goodness” were said about this amazing pie.

I highly recommend trying this out if you love apple pie or not! This may very well change your mind about apple pie.

The original recipe says to bake it for 35 minutes on 350 degrees but that is not enough time at all. I ended up baking it for an hour and 20 minutes until the crust was crisp and the top was not dough still. I started with 50 minutes and kept putting it back in for 10 t a time, so not to burn it. I suggest doing this because everyone’s oven is different.

Thanks for the recipe Nana! 🙂

Enjoy!

 

Cinnamon Roll Apple Pie

Ingredients:

4 large granny smith apples

2 cans of cinnamon rolls

½ cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon cornstarch

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray a pie dish with nonstick oil.
  2. Peel and cut apples into thin slices and place into a bowl.
  3. Add sugar, cinnamon, and cornstarch to apples and stir.
  4. Flatten cinnamon rolls and layer the bottom of the pie dish to create the bottom crust.
  5. Add the apples and layer the rest of the flattened rolls on top to create the closed crust. (pinch any holes together with your fingers.)
  6. Cover with tin foil and bake for 50 minutes. Check and keep baking 10 min at a time until pie edges are golden brown and middle is done.

 

