This moist cake was probably the most entertaining school project I’ve ever had! My assignment was to find a recipe that pioneers might have used, and then make it!

The directions on this one are kind of confusing, so I’ve edited the original recipe to make it…well, less confusing!

I’m not sure why, but I had to bake this cake for much longer than it said I would have to. I baked it until a toothpick came out clean and it took almost an hour. It may just be my oven, but be warned that might happen.

This cake isn’t overly moist or overly dry, but it would do well with a strawberry jam drizzle on top. I highly recommend adding from warmed jam overtop of it. It gives much more of a pop to cake that’s already not very sugary.

Enjoy!

Swedish Jam Cake

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter

1 1/4 cups sugar

3 eggs, separated

Pinch salt

1 teaspoon soda

1 cup buttermilk

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1/2 teaspoon allspice

1 cup strawberry jam

Directions

Cream butter and sugar; add beaten egg yolks and salt.

Dissolve soda in buttermilk.

Mix together flour and spices and add to creamed mixture alternately with buttermilk, adding flour last.

Beat well and add jam.

Fold in beaten egg whites. (Soft peak)

Bake in greased and floured 8×8-inch pan at 375° F. for 35 to 40 minutes.

