These chewies are probably the best Christmas-y cookies I’ve ever tasted. Everyone else loved them too! My dad’s co-worker said I should open a bakery, and my dad’s boss paid me to make more for him! This may turn out to be very good business for me…

I must confess that while making these I watched about 3 episodes of Gilmore Girls. I started watching it a few days ago and what better thing to pass the time while I rolled out 4 dozen cookie balls? It’s a very funny show and I encourage everyone to try it, no matter how embarrassed you might be to admit you’ve seen it.

Ok back to baking. This looks like a normal delicious recipe that you can just jump right into, but don’t be fooled. Be warned. This recipe makes 4 DOZEN CHEWIES. I, being the kind of person who just likes to jump right in, discovered this the hard way when I realized I was thawing 3 sticks of butter and mixing up 4 cups of flour. Maybe baking and Gilmore Girls together doesn’t help me focus… Well, the more the merrier, right? The massive amount of cookies this made allowed me to send 2 dozen with my dad, take 2 dozen to school, and best of all, watch more Gilmore Girls. So I suggest that if you don’t want to end up with more cookies than you can eat, you might want to cut the recipe in half. But if you’re taking them somewhere, make the 4 dozen because they will disappear very quickly.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did! Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go watch Gilmore Girls. 🙂

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 ½ cups butter, softened to room temperature (not melted)

2 cups granulated sugar

½ cup molasses

2 eggs

4 cups all-purpose flour

4 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 375°F.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, soda, cinnamon, cloves, ginger and salt. Set aside.
In the bowl of an electric stand mixer, beat together butter and sugar on medium speed for 1 minute until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs and molasses, and beat on medium-low speed until combined. Gradually add in the dry ingredient mixture and beat until combined. Cover and refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes, until it is chilled*.
Roll the dough into small balls, about 1-inch in diameter. Fill a small bowl with sugar, and roll each ball in the sugar until it is completely coated. Place on cookie sheet at least 1 inch apart, then bake for about 8-10 minutes, until the cookies begin to slightly crack on top. (They may crack more while cooling.) Remove from the oven and let cool for a minute or two. Then transfer to wire rack to cool.

Source: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/chewy-ginger-molasses-cookies/

