Before you diss these cookies because they are the color of the State of Liberty, I would like you to know that they are absolutely delicious. They are super moist and several of my friends commented that they have the constancy of a fresh baked muffin.

These cookies weren’t supposed to be blue/green, but I discovered a very important concept in cooking! The recipe says to fold in the blueberries. The mixer I was using had a fold button, so I though, “Why not?” and pressed it. Little did I know, that would add a bit to much pressure, and pop the blueberries. I laughed at myself when I realized this, knowing it would be a funny story to tell when people ask why they are green.

So, a note to these cookies, don’t use the mixer to add the blueberries! Use a spoon to gently stir them in. I, personally, think that the interesting hue of thee treats make them unique! So if you want unique cookies, by all means, use the fold button or the lowest mix setting!

I hope you enjoy these as much as my government teacher and science teacher did! 🙂

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2½ cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • Lemon Glaze:
  • 1½ cup powdered sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tablespoon Milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • zest of one lemon(Or add an extra 1/2 Tbsp Lemon Juice)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or lightly spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl cream together the sugar, butter, and cream cheese until smooth. Add in egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated.
  3. In another medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Beat the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until incorporated. Gently fold in blueberries.
  4. Drop heaping tablespoons of dough onto the cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack.
  5. To make the glaze, whisk together the powdered sugar, lemon juice, milk, vanilla and lemon zest. Drizzle on top of cookies.

 

 

Source-http://therecipecritic.com/2015/05/blueberry-cream-cheese-cookies-with-a-lemon-glaze/

 

